I’m sad and in love

What does it take to fall in love?

Some say it’s a smile, some say it’s a touch,

It could be a kiss or the passing of time

I can’t say for sure,

But I will say that I am

 

And being that as it is,

It makes me very sad.

 

Cause I’m not the kind of person that people keep,

They glean in on little pieces, fragments, of me and they run.

 

Because I don’t know how to do superficial,

Nor do I know how to pretend “normal”

I don’t bother with friends,

Cause it’s too much work,

And I don’t have those kinds of resources.

 

So now, I’m in love,

And the dark cloud has come for a visit.

It usually stays a long while,

I know just to ride it out,

Not to rush it away,

Not to question it,

Nor to push it.

None of that helps, so I ride it out.

 

But will my new love last through the storm?

 

Cause my first love left at the mere darkening of the sky.

Leave a comment